1130 Winton Drive Concord, CA 94518 (925) 288-8100

Honors for Hall of Fame Inductees and Alumnus of the Year 2012

Posted: June 6, 2012

The De La Salle Athletic Hall of Fame welcomed new members, and the school honored a Distinguished Alumnus of the Year from its inaugural class of 1969.

The ceremony on campus on June 3 was a fun get-together and a moving experience, as the new Hall of Famers spoke about their time as De La Salle students and Spartan athletes, and as members of what they all called "a true brotherhood." They spoke feelingly about the life lessons they had learned from their high school endeavors. A full report will be in the Fall 2012 issue of the Union magazine. For photos, see the photo gallery at right. Click on any photo to enlarge it. For video, see the end of this article.

The Hall of Fame inductees were: Gerald Price ’75, an outstanding baseball player who went on to win the College World Series with USC. He was the DLS Athlete of the Year in 1975. Chris Prietto ’81, a sprinter who set a DLS school record of 47.3 seconds in the 400-meter run and went on to captain the UC Irvine track team. Robert Hinckley ’85, DLS Athlete of the Year and football MVP; he went on to be an All-American linebacker at Stanford. Nicholas (Niko) Lahanas ’86, who was a high school All-American swimmer and went on to swim for UC Berkeley and for Greece in the Olympics. Joe McLean ’92, a 3-year starter on the Spartan varsity basketball team and DLS MVP who went on to play at the University of Arizona and professionally in Europe. And the 1990 Swimming and Diving Team, a 23-man squad that was the first aquatics team in school history to win the North Coast Section title. They did it without having a single first-place finisher in any event, making this one of the great team accomplishments in De La Salle’s history.

The Distinguished Alumnus of the Year 2012 is Rev. Lasalle Hallissey, O.P.’69. A freshman at De La Salle on its opening day in 1965, and a proud member of its first graduating class, Sean Hallissey entered religious life after high school, taking the name “LaSalle,” and after some years with the Christian Brothers he discerned his vocation as a priest and was ordained to the Dominican order in 1979. An associate pastor at St. Dominic’s Parish in Benicia, Father Lasalle will also serve as his alma mater's chaplain.

If you couldn't be there on June 3, you can still enjoy the wonderful video, produced by Robert Rothgery and Dr. David Flakoll, in which each honoree is introduced. The 1990 Swim and Dive Team is presented by coach Steve Guthrie; Gerald Price '75 is presented by Mike Balog '75; Chris Prietto '81 is presented by coach Joe Stocking; Robert Hinckley '85 is presented by coach Bob Ladouceur; Nicholas Lahanas '86 is presented by president Mark DeMarco '78; Joe McLean '92 is presented by coach George Nessman '77; Father Hallissey is presented by director of campus ministry Roger Hassett. The video is on YouTube here.

Last Updated: August 13, 2013