Les Hommes De Foi

Off Canvas Navigation Container

Close Trigger (container)

De La Salle High School Class of 2022 Commencement Ceremony Held On Sunday

De La Salle High School Class of 2022 Commencement Ceremony Held On Sunday

De La Salle High School held its in-person Commencement Ceremony for the Class of 2022 at Owen Owens Field on Sunday, May 22. During this graduation ceremony, the Class of 2022 Valedictorian, Zane John Magannam, and Salutatorian, Scott Christopher Tomaszewicz, were announced and presented their graduation speeches to the class and the families in attendance.

Along with her commencement address, Vice President for Academic Life, Dr. Heather Alumbaugh, presented the academic department senior awards. President David J. Holquin joined Dr. Alumbaugh to present the distinguished awards to the senior class, then, followed with his commencement speech. Following Mr. Holquin’s address, the Class of 2022 was announced and diplomas were presented to each student as they crossed the stage. 

Below is a list of all the distinguished awards.

Class of 2022 Valedictorian- Zane John Mogannam
Class of 2022 Salutatorian - Scott Christopher Tomaszewicz

Academic Departmental Awards

Brother Hilary La Tour, F.S.C., Religious Studies - Hugh Timothy Conrad
     Distinguished Merit: Aidan Patrick Noland, Marco James Stassi, and Nathan Michael VanderKlugt

English - Marcel Ryoma Latasa
     Distinguished Merit: Pierre Vincent Jolin and Thomas Stephen Welch II

Mathematics - Marcel Ryoma Latasa
     Distinguished Merit: Pierre Vincent Jolin, Connor Nicholas Koury (Computer Science), and Zane John Mogannam

Physical Education - Michael Alexander Diaz
     Distinguished Merit: Anthony Michael Parker and Harrison Christopher Tooze

Science - Marcel Ryoma Latasa
     Distinguished Merit: Trey Pearse Johnson, Michael Shohta Kostolansky, and Zane John Mogannam

Social Studies - Zane John Mogannam
     Distinguished Merit: Pierre Vincent Jolin, Michael Shohta Kostolansky, and Marcel Ryoma Latasa

Visual and Performing Arts - Spencer John Morgan Richards
     Distinguished Merit in Music: Marco James Stassi and Benjamin Michael Williamson
     Distinguished Merit in Theatre: Anthony Michael Parker
     Distinguished Merit in Visual Art: Kyle Robert Morrison and Thomas Stephen Welch II

World Languages - Marcel Ryoma Latasa (Latin) and Cameron Andrew Meyer (Spanish)
     Distinguished Merit: Pierre Vincent Jolin (Spanish), Michael Shohta Kostolansky (Italian), Samuel Harrison
          Pickett (Latin), and Isaiah Alexander Villamore Sana (Latin)

Saint Benilde Campus Ministry Award - Scott Christopher Tomaszewicz
Is presented to the graduate whose dedication and consistent work in the school’s campus ministry program demonstrated his commitment to Christian service and Christian ideals.

Nick Casci Award - Anthony Micahel Parker
Nick Casci was an Art teacher at De La Salle and assisted with drama in the early 70s. This memorial award is given to a student who has participated in Theatre during his four years here. 

Brother Visitor’s Lasallian Award - Carson Louis Sebree
This award is given in the name of the Brother Visitor or Provincial, currently Brother Donald Johanson, on behalf of the San Francisco/New Orleans District.  This award is given as a sign that the Province is actively engaged in the ministry of Christian education “together and by association.” Specifically, the award is given to a senior whose actions and achievements demonstrate devotion to learning, a spirit of faith, concern for others, and a sharing of talents.

Victor A. Nigro Memorial Award - Pierre Vincent Jolin
Is given to a graduate who is a high achiever, who has demonstrated his commitment to the ideals of Christian education, and who has freely given his love and respect to those around him.

Bruce Wilhelmy Scholarship Award - Hugh Timothy Conrad
This award was named for the brother of De La Salle parent and long-time team doctor, John Wilhelmy. Bruce Wilhelmy exhibited true sportsmanship and leadership serving as co-captain of his Texas state championship high school basketball team. Bruce later went on to study at the Naval Academy in Annapolis and received the distinguished Flying Cross Award for his exemplary efforts in providing pivotal low-level photos of Cuba during the Cuban Missile Crisis. Tragically, this remarkable aviator passed away three years later testing naval planes. This memorial award honors his legacy of leadership.

Distinguished Graduation Awards

The following special awards are given to seniors at the graduation ceremony.  These awards are voted on by the faculty at large and then determined by the graduation committee.

Brother Jerome Gallegos, F.S.C. Parents’ Association Award - John Paul Hoover
This award is given in memory and in honor of Br. Jerome Gallagos, a long-time Principal of De La Salle who was very active with the parent association during his tenure. This award is given to that graduate whose academic standing, community involvement, and service to the school are of high merit.

Brother Norman Cook, F.S.C. First Principal’s Award - Oscar Alfonso Gomez and Cameron Scott Keith
The First Principal’s Award is given in memory and in honor of Br. Norman Cook, the Founding Principal of De La Salle in 1965. The award is conferred upon a graduate who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in both academic and athletic endeavors

Academic Achievement Award - Pierre Vincent Jolin, Michael Shohta Kostolansky, and Marcel Ryoma Latasa
This award is presented to the graduates who have maintained A’s in every class over their four-year course of studies at De La Salle.

David Samson Special Achievement Award - Joseph Henry Andre
This award is given in memory and in honor of David Samson, a long-time very charismatic Social Studies teacher at De La Salle who died of cancer in 2004. This award is given to a graduate who has persevered in the vocation of a student in completing his education at De La Salle.

Rudy Schulze Leadership Award - Cameron Andrew Meyer
This award is given in memory and in honor to the graduate who has provided strong leadership for both his class and the entire student body. Mr. Schulze was an exemplary leader, administrator, teacher, and friend in the De La Salle community for many years, sharing his gifts and inspiring others to leadership.

Loyalty and Service Award - Scott Christopher Tomaszewicz
Each year a graduate is acknowledged for his qualities of loyalty and service to De La Salle; a genuine interest in the school community and student affairs characterizes the individual receiving this award.

Signum Fidei Award - Zane John Mogannam
Signum Fidei is a Latin phrase that means Sign of Faith.  This award is presented to the De La Salle graduate who best exemplifies the attainment of the school-wide learning expectations of faith, integrity, and scholarship.

St. John Baptist de La Salle General Excellence Award - Marcel Ryoma Latasa
The General Excellence Award is the highest and most distinguished award granted by De La Salle at the time of graduation. The award is merited by a graduate who clearly exemplifies the ideals of the De La Salle community through his academic studies, leadership in campus activities, service to the community, and demonstration of Christian concern.

# # # # # # # # #