Skip To Main Content

Utilities

Branding

Location

Les Hommes De Foi

Off Canvas Navigation Container

Close Trigger (container)

Sports Medicine

DLSspartans

Mission Statement

In support of the school’s primary goals of spiritual, intellectual and physical development of its students the mission of the Sports Medicine Department is to support the athlete as a whole spiritually, mentally, and physically. The health and welfare of the student athlete shall be paramount in the department.

De La Salle strives to develop a program that effectively utilizes the talents of the staff and resources of the program. A diversified program of prevention, evaluation, education, treatment and rehabilitation will assure a positive healthy recovery experience, an improved quality of life, a safe return to full athletic participation and continued athletic success. In addition to injury management, student athlete education will be emphasized to instill lifelong healthy practices.

The information presented in this handbook is meant to be an initial guide to help the student athletes as they face the challenges of high school and sport.


Daily Hygiene

Injury Prevention

Nutrition

Concussions

Sleep



Resources

Athletic Training Staff
Kent Mercer, MS, ATC
Head Athletic Trainer
Phone: (925) 288-8133
Email: mercerk@dlshs.org

Douglas Bauman, MS, ATC, CES
Assistant Athletic Trainer
Phone: (925) 288-8100 ext 7126
Email: baumand@dlshs.org

Strength and Conditioning
Mark Wine, CSCS, USAW-PT, PES, CES
Strength and Conditioning Coach
Email: winem@dlshs.org

Team Physician
Charlie Preston, MD
Muir Orthopaedic Specialists
Phone: (925) 939-8585
Email: cpreston@muirortho.com

 

Athletic Department Staff
Leo Lopoz
Athletic Director
Phone: (925) 288-8144
Email: lopozl@dlshs.org

Derricke Brown
Associate Athletic Director
Phone: (925) 288-8197
Email: brownd@dlshs.org

Guidance Services
Scott Drain
Dir. of Student Support Services
Phone: (925) 288-8161
Email: drains@dlshs.org

Lindsay Melaas
Counselor
Phone: (925) 288-9147
Email: melaasl@dlshs.org